Best of the Week – 2017/08/02

I’ve started posting a weekly collection of blog posts, articles, podcasts, and books that I have found interesting, helpful, challenging, important, or funny. I don’t endorse everything I post, but I only post content I think is worth taking the time to consider. We all have to make choices about what content we “consume” each week, so I hope I can point you in directions that are worth your time.

Like last week, I’ve included material that’s a few months old.

Blog Posts & Online Journals

Online Newspapers & Magazines

Podcast Episodes

  • Risen Motherhood“How Many Children Should We Have”– Hosts Emily Jensen and Laura Wifler talk about embracing children into family life while raising a number of considerations to balance.
  • Audition: A Podcast of Mars Hill Audio, “Oliver O’Donovan on political theology” – Host Ken Myers interviews the moral philosopher on the Church’s historic belief that governments are expressions of God’s rule, and that the reality of the king of God is a necessary point of reference if we are to understand politics correctly.
  • Radiolab, “From Tree to Shining Tree” – Hosts Jad and Simon explore the forest and uncover the incredibly ability of trees to communicate and create symbiotic relationships with fungi.

Books

  • The Deep Things of God by Fred Sanders – an exploration of the doctrine of the Trinity as it relates to Evangelical faith, the gospel, and the Christian life
